Two mistresses talk to each other in OP clothes

Gender variance

The Gender Variance Innovation Focus is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary treatment center for people with gender incongruence or gender dysphoria in Switzerland to date.

Gender dysphoria and gender incongruence are conditions that a person may experience when their different gender parts (gender identity, gender body, gender role, etc.) do not match.

As a rule, gender dysphoria and gender incongruence are perceived as unpleasant, which is why some people affected by them decide to transition in the course of their lives. Gender dysphoria and gender incongruence occur most frequently in trans and inter people, which is why our center specializes in these two specific groups of people seeking treatment.

For the Gender Variance Innovation Focus, the phenomenon of gender variance is one of the core qualities of being human.

In this sense, the Gender Variance Innovation Focus does not consider the presence of gender tension, which can lead to gender dysphoria and gender incongruence, to be a pathological process. Rather, the team focuses on reducing these tensions and thus improving the quality of life of those seeking treatment - and not on reproducing binary cisnormative gender concepts.

Quality of life encompasses physical, psychological and social aspects. Consequently, this can result in medical, psychotherapeutic and/or social transition steps.

With a few exceptions, the interventions described here meet the basic requirements for their costs to be covered by health insurance. At the same time, in specific situations it can happen that an insurance company refuses to cover the costs of a specific intervention. In such situations, the Gender Variance Innovation Focus team supports those seeking treatment in order to resolve these conflicts.

Particularly at the beginning of the medical transition, non-surgical treatments can lead to a reduction in gender tensions.

These measures can be divided into the following areas:

Feminizing measures

The use of estrogen in combination with testosterone blockers

a) suppress testosterone and its effect in the body and
b) the development of feminine body characteristics is initiated.
Regular, lifelong follow-up care by a team experienced in hormone treatment is required to check the hormone effect, avoid unwanted effects and adjust the hormone dose if necessary.

Masculinizing measures

The use of testosterone (and possibly the additional use of gonadotropin analogs) reduces

a) suppress oestrogen and its effect in the body and
b) the development of masculine body characteristics is initiated.
Regular, lifelong follow-up care by a team experienced in hormone treatment is required to check the hormone effect, avoid unwanted effects and adjust the hormone dose if necessary.

Some medical treatments (e.g. hormone therapy, genital surgery) can have an impact on the fertility of the person seeking treatment. This is why questions relating to reproduction should be discussed at an early stage. The reproductive specialists in the team are happy to provide this advice.

People who are uncomfortable with their own voice can benefit from speech therapy treatment. After a phoniatric voice analysis, the person seeking treatment is advised on voice training (and where this can take place).

In certain situations, permanent hair removal, particularly in the facial area, may be necessary despite successful hormone therapy. This therapy is offered in our specialized dermatology center.

If an additional psychological burden (e.g. depression, social anxiety, substance use) that could make transition more difficult is identified during the initial assessment, it may make sense to initiate accompanying psychiatric or psychological/psychotherapeutic treatment. This parallel treatment is generally recommended as an additional measure, which means that - unlike in the past - it does not cause any delays in the transition. Depending on the individual situation and needs, this treatment can be carried out at the Gender Variance Innovation Focus itself or close to where the person seeking treatment lives.

For many people seeking treatment, surgical transition measures are an important step towards achieving a good quality of life. The Gender Variance Innovation Focus has many years of experience in gender reassignment surgery. For the team at the Gender Variance Innovation Focus, a coordinated approach in a multidisciplinary team is a matter of course.

The surgical team includes experts from the fields of plastic surgery, urology, gynecology, ENT and oral and maxillofacial surgery. We distinguish between feminizing (=feminizing) and masculinizing (=masculinizing) treatments.

The formation of a female breast is usually achieved by inserting silicone implants. The most modern and safest implants in the world are used. The size of the implants is determined individually according to body proportions and individual wishes. Alternatively, breast reconstruction can also be performed using fat tissue transfer from the body's own fat. This technique usually requires 2-3 surgical sessions. Breast surgery can, but does not have to, be combined with other procedures.

In vaginoplasty, a modified penile inversion technique is used, whereby the erectile tissue and testicles are removed and a clitoris, labia minora and labia majora, a new urethral opening and a vagina are created in collaboration with the colleagues at the Department of Urology. Depending on the individual situation, individual steps can also be performed, e.g. removal of the testicles only (orchiectomy) or reconstruction of the external genitalia without forming a vagina (vulvoplasty).

Various procedures are available for facial feminization, such as nose correction (rhinoplasty), chin and jaw reduction, brow lift or hairline correction. The latter operations are sometimes performed in collaboration with oral and maxillofacial surgery. There are also minimally invasive options using hyaluronic acid fillers and fat tissue transfer to build up female facial contours, particularly in the lip and cheek area.

The reduction of the Adam's apple is achieved via a submental approach. Occasionally, the procedure can be combined with feminizing voice surgery.

If speech therapy has not been able to improve the patient's speaking voice, various surgical measures can be used. A precise assessment (voice analysis, computer tomogram of the larynx, size of the Adam's apple) and individual consultation are required in order to ultimately decide which surgical technique to use.

The removal of the mammary gland (mastectomy) is necessary to create a male breast. The nipples are often reduced in size and moved outwards in order to achieve the most attractive appearance possible. Different techniques are possible depending on the individual situation.

The uterus and ovaries are removed in a minimally invasive procedure using laparoscopy (laparoscopy). These organs are removed via the vagina, which is closed at the upper end.

If penis formation (phalloplasty) is also desired later on, a combined removal of the vagina, uterus and ovaries is recommended. In this case, the vagina is first dissected from above using laparoscopy, then the rest of the vagina is removed from below (vaginal approach) and the vulva is closed.

If the uterus and ovaries have already been removed in a previous operation, the vagina can be removed directly through a vaginal approach. In this case, the vaginal tissue is removed and the vulva is then closed.

Various techniques are available worldwide for the formation of a penis (phalloplasty). The two most established techniques (radial flap phalloplasty and antero-lateral Tigh (ALT) flap phalloplasty) are among the standard procedures performed by our plastic surgery and urology team:

  • Radialis flapplasty uses a piece of the forearm, with which both the penis and the urethra are formed in a single step.
  • As this radial flap plasty leaves a large scar on the forearm and often also causes sensory disturbances, we offer a phalloplasty with tissue from the thigh (ALT flap plasty) as an alternative. This avoids a circular scar on the arm and the scar on the thigh is not visible when wearing shorts.

Regardless of the phalloplasty technique, a scrotum (scrotoplasty) and glans (coronoplasty) are also created. As a final step, penile implants (hydraulic or semi-rigid penis pump) and testicular implants (silicone) can be inserted depending on individual requirements.

Contouring procedures such as chin and lower jaw augmentation with repositioning osteotomies or implants and hyaluronic acid fillers are offered for the purpose of gender adjustment in the facial area. These procedures are sometimes carried out in collaboration with oral and maxillofacial surgery.

At the Innovation Focus on Gender Variance, those seeking treatment have the advantage of being able to discuss their questions and concerns with an Advance Practice Nurse (APN) who specializes in this field.

Support before surgery
In view of the current medico-legal requirements, which demand "medical" confirmation of the diagnoses of gender dysphoria or In view of the current medical-legal requirements, which demand "medical confirmation" of the diagnoses of gender dysphoria or gender incongruence in order for the cost bearers to cover the medical gender reassignment services, the initial assessment carried out by the APN is initially aimed at recording the "gender biography" of those seeking treatment. An individual transition plan is also determined here on the basis of the reported gender dysphoria and gender incongruence-related problems on a shared decision making basis.


Finally, both the diagnosis and the plan are discussed and determined with the psychiatric head of the gender variance innovation focus in a joint meeting. The agreed referrals are then made to the other team members (e.g. dermatology, endocrinology, phoniatrics). Depending on individual needs, further follow-up appointments are arranged with the APN, during which the effectiveness of the measures introduced can be discussed and any corrections or additions initiated.


For some treatment seekers, the focus is more on the social aspects of transition (e.g. coming out in the family or at work), while other treatment seekers are mainly interested in medical issues (support in making decisions regarding measures, expectations of the surgical results). This helps to optimize the results of the transition. Experience has shown that the use of a coordination office massively shortens the communication channels within and outside the hospital, which improves the quality of and satisfaction with the various medical interventions.

Support during the surgical process
The APN is familiar with hospital procedures and works closely with the nursing team on the wards and with the team of doctors from the Gender Variance Innovation Focus. Individual questions and concerns can therefore be clarified before a planned hospital stay. Those seeking treatment are also accompanied and individually supported by the APN during their stay.

Support after surgery
Even after leaving hospital, the APN is available to answer questions in case of uncertainties and is integrated into the surgical follow-up treatment.

In the medical transition, the innovation focus on gender variance is based on national and international treatment recommendations. The team focuses on individual, interprofessional and holistic advice and treatment for each person.

Admission to the treatment program is recommended for people who are at the beginning of their medical transition. After registration, the Gender Variance Innovation Focus team will contact the person seeking treatment to arrange an initial appointment.

A transition - and especially a medical one - can give rise to many questions, so it is important to identify your individual needs in an initial consultation. Only in this way is it possible for the team to accompany and support each person individually.

The initial examination is initially aimed at recording the "gender biography" and can sometimes extend over several sessions. Here, an individual transition plan is determined on a shared decision making basis based on the reported gender dysphoria and gender incongruence-related problems.

This route is recommended for people who have already undergone medical transition steps (e.g. hormone treatment) and are interested in individual treatment options (e.g. surgical interventions). After receiving the application, the team checks whether the medical and administrative requirements (confirmation of gender dysphoria and gender incongruence diagnosis by a doctor, progress report from the hormone prescribing specialist) have been met.

The Gender Variance Innovation Focus works with various somatic(University Children's Hospital Basel)

and psychiatric clinics

from the child and adolescent sector, but also from the adult sector.


The Gender Variance Innovation Focus is also involved in professional exchange at national, European and global level. We are also in close contact with community-based organizations and information services.

Completed projects:

  • ITES: Internalized transphobia - Experimental study
  • Trans*Swiss: Satisfaction and quality of life of medically post-transitioned trans people

Student registration

Are you considering writing a (Bachelor's, Master's or PhD) thesis on the topic of "Gender Variance"? Then please write us an e-mail and leave us your main questions and concerns. We will get in touch with you soon.

Requirements
The Gender Variance Innovation Focus is committed to improving all aspects of the health of gender variant people. This includes their correct representation and perception in science, as this area in particular can quickly serve as a basis for stigmatizing this population group. In line with the recommendations of the WPATH, we assume that you will use gender-inclusive language in your work. In the case of (baccalaureate and specialist degree) interviews, it is also assumed that you have a basic knowledge of basic articles on the topic.

The Gender Variance Innovation Focus team

Endocrinology team

93ece986-62f4-407c-bbd7-14af71a7187a

Prof. Dr. Christian Meier

Leitender Arzt

Endokrinologie, Diabetologie & Metabolismus

Show profile

391ec333-5e9a-4b77-a989-0dc11cac9f62

PD Dr. Bettina Winzeler

Oberärztin

Endokrinologie, Diabetologie & Metabolismus

Show profile

Reproductive medicine team

c23d0074-b4e0-494b-a4a0-2a0c4df2ef7d

Dr. Maddalena Masciocchi

Kaderärztin

Frauenklinik

Plastic surgery team

7dace239-64c8-4250-84f7-98254a955ec7

Dr. Barbara Mijuskovic

Kaderärztin

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

552c2b8b-b405-4e89-be4b-7bdba9ccdc2f

Dr. Alexander Lunger

Oberarzt

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

bd4f062d-7e5a-4d29-a7ee-734debb64585

Dr. Nadia Menzi

Oberärztin

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

Urology team

053f66bf-3954-41d1-a341-7985bef981a4

Dr. Antje Feicke

Leitende Ärztin

Urologie

890bfc64-087b-494e-8c9f-6632e25ef651

Dr. Nicole Ebinger Mundorff

Kaderärztin

Urologie

ENT team

c3f8b5c3-239e-4956-ba05-88e1da01b4ea

Prof. Dr. Claudio Storck

Leitender Arzt, Leiter Phoniatrie

HNO

Dermatology team

d6313075-aa29-4e7e-a1ae-4442a2cba29a

Dr. Roberta Vasconcelos

Oberärztin

Dermatologie

Gynecology team

ba4337e2-2b79-417e-95ea-695a5d2fe5ec

Dr. Tilemachos Kavvadias

Kaderarzt

Frauenklinik

Oral and maxillofacial surgery team

231514b9-a65b-49e8-b1ea-b2679845a8be

Prof. Dr. mult. Florian M. Thieringer, MHBA

Chefarzt

Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie

Show profile

de208e16-e8c8-472c-bd7c-5ff264f5585f

Dr. med. Dr. med. dent. Sead Abazi

Stv. Oberarzt

Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie

Psychiatry and psychotherapy team

54195656-3df8-428b-9cdb-22f0a33823ad

Dr. David Garcia Nuñez

Leiter Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

dfd34c78-0b29-4ba8-9d9f-1f85829eeaca

Andrea Scheidegger

Assistenzpsychologin

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

Care team

1b8cb0b0-71f5-47bb-945f-44ce8460d274

Nicole Brüll

APN Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

b520b0f2-8219-465a-bd73-d1ebab0127a0

Janusch Labud

Stationsleitung

Chirurgie B4.6

e3f0d891-359e-4072-8f6a-a589838c2abe

Claudia Hauser

Fachleitung Pflege APN

Chirurgie B4.6

be2eb3d1-70f6-47bd-9a1a-a7c863d1a45f

Karin Müller-Wernli

Hauptverantwortliche Berufsbildnerin

Chirurgie B4.6

ca7473f4-a17a-4086-93b1-275879d3630e

Tamara Stalder

Stv. Stationsleitung

Chirurgie B4.6

Research team

54195656-3df8-428b-9cdb-22f0a33823ad

Dr. David Garcia Nuñez

Leiter Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

Administration

5eb16fe8-3490-4e40-902a-330c9c0c1a3c

Daniela Casertano

Assistentin der Geschäftsführung

Margarethenklinik

News and literature on the innovation focus on gender variance

Do you need specialist information on the subject of "Gender variance" for your article or research? Then please send us an e-mail and leave us your main questions and concerns. We will get in touch with you soon.

Requirements
The Gender Variance Innovation Focus is committed to improving all aspects of the health of gender variant people. This includes their correct representation and perception in science, as this area in particular can quickly serve as a basis for stigmatizing this population group. In line with WPATH recommendations, we require that articles in which the Gender Variant Innovation Focus is interviewed or contributes use gender-inclusive language.

Do you have any further questions or comments? Then send an e-mail to geschlechtervarianz@usb.ch

Videos

Video on the innovation focus on gender variance

Health today: Feminizing facial surgery

Zwei Frauchen sprechen miteinander in OP Kleidung

Geschlechter-varianz

Der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz ist das bisher umfangreichste inter- und multidisziplinäre Behandlungszentrum für Personen mit einer Geschlechtsinkongruenz bzw. Geschlechtsdysphorie in der Schweiz.

Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz sind Zustände, die eine Person feststellen kann, wenn ihre verschiedenen Geschlechtsanteile (Geschlechtsidentität, Geschlechtskörper, Geschlechtsrolle, etc.) nicht in Übereinstimmung stehen.

In der Regel werden Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz als unangenehm empfunden, weshalb sich manche davon betroffene Personen im Verlauf ihres Lebens zu einer Transition entscheiden. Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz treten am häufigsten bei trans und inter Personen auf, weshalb sich unser Zentrum auf diese zwei spezifischen Gruppen von Behandlungssuchenden spezialisiert hat.

Für den Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz stellt das Phänomen der Geschlechtervarianz eine der Kernqualitäten des Menschseins dar.

In diesem Sinne erachtet der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz das Vorhandensein von Geschlechterspannungen, die zu Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz führen können, nicht als pathologischen Vorgang. Viel mehr steht für das Team die Reduktion dieser Spannungen und damit die Verbesserung der Lebensqualität der Behandlungssuchenden – und nicht die Reproduktion von binären cisnormativen Geschlechtervorstellungen – im Vordergrund.

Die Lebensqualität umfasst sowohl körperliche, psychische als auch soziale Aspekte. Folglich können sich daraus medizinische, psychotherapeutische und/oder gesellschaftliche Transitionsschritte ergeben.

Mit wenigen Ausnahmen erfüllen die hier beschriebenen Interventionen die Grundvoraussetzungen, damit ihre Kosten durch die Krankenkasse übernommen werden. Gleichzeitig kann es in spezifischen Situationen vorkommen, dass eine Versicherung die Kosten für eine spezifische Intervention ablehnt. In solchen Situationen unterstützt das Team des Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz die Behandlungssuchenden, um diese Konflikte lösen zu können.

Gerade zu Beginn der medizinischen Transition können nicht-chirurgische Behandlungen zu einer Reduktion der Geschlechterspannungen führen.

Diese Massnahmen unterteilen sich in die folgenden Bereiche:

Feminisierende Massnahmen

Durch den Einsatz von Östrogen in Kombination mit Testosteronblockern werden 

a) Testosteron und seine Wirkung im Körper unterdrückt und
b) die Entwicklung von weiblich gelesenen Körpermerkmalen eingeleitet. 
Zur Überprüfung der Hormonwirkung, Vermeidung von ungewollten Wirkungen und allfälligen Anpassung der Hormondosis ist eine regelmässige, lebenslange Nachsorge in einem für die Hormonbehandlung erfahrenen Team erforderlich.

 

Maskulinisierende Massnahmen

Durch den Einsatz von Testosteron (und ev. dem zusätzlichen Einsatz von Gonadotropin-analoga) werden

a) Östrogen und seine Wirkung im Körper unterdrückt und 
b) die Entwicklung von männlich gelesenen Körpermerkmalen eingeleitet.
Zur Überprüfung der Hormonwirkung, Vermeidung von ungewollten Wirkungen und allfälligen Anpassung der Hormondosis ist eine regelmässige, lebenslange Nachsorge in einem für die Hormonbehandlung erfahrenen Team erforderlich.

Einige medizinische Behandlungen (z. B. Hormontherapie, Genitaloperationen) können sich auf die Fruchtbarkeit der behandlungssuchenden Person auswirken. Darum sollten Fragen rund um die Reproduktion zu einem frühen Stadium fundiert besprochen werden. Die Reproduktionsspezialist:innen im Team übernehmen gerne diese Beratung.

Personen, die ein Unbehagen hinsichtlich der eigenen Stimme aufweisen, können von einer logopädischen Behandlung profitieren. Nach einer phoniatrischen Stimmanalyse werden mit den Behandlungssuchenden hinsichtlich der Stimmbildung (und wo diese stattfinden kann) beraten.

In gewissen Situationen kann trotz erfolgreich installierter Hormontherapie eine permanente Haarentfernung, insbesondere im Gesichtsbereich, notwendig sein. Die Therapie wird in unserem spezialisierten dermatologischen Zentrum angeboten. 

Wird im Rahmen der Erstabklärung eine psychische Zusatzbelastung (z. B. Depressionen, soziale Ängste, Substanzkonsum), die eine Transition erschweren können, festgestellt, dann kann die Einleitung einer begleitenden psychiatrisch- bzw. psychologisch-psychotherapeutischen Behandlung sinnvoll sein. Diese Parallelbehandlung wird grundsätzlich als Zusatzmassnahme empfohlen, wodurch sie – im Unterschied zu früheren Zeiten – keinerlei Verzögerungen bei der Transition verursacht. Je nach individueller Situation und Bedürfnisse kann diese Behandlung am Innovations-Fokus Geschlechtervarianz selbst oder in Wohnortsnähe der Behandlungssuchenden durchgeführt werden.

Chirurgische Transitionsmassnahmen sind für viele Behandlungssuchende ein wichtiger Schritt zur Erreichung einer guten Lebensqualität. Am Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz besteht eine jahrelange Erfahrung bezüglich geschlechtsangleichender Operationen. Dabei ist für das Team des Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz ein abgestimmtes Vorgehen in einem multidisziplinären Team selbstverständlich.

Im chirurgischen Bereich gehören Expert:innen aus Plastischer Chirurgie, Urologie, Gynäkologie, HNO und Mund-Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie.  Wir unterscheiden zwischen feminisierenden (=verweiblichenden) und maskulinisierenden (=vermännlichenden) Behandlungen.

Die Bildung einer weiblichen Brust erfolgt meistens durch die Einlage von Silikonimplantaten. Dabei werden die modernsten und sichersten Implantate weltweit verwendet. Die Grösse der Implantate wird individuell je nach Körperproportion und individuellem Wunsch bestimmt. Alternativ kann die Brustkonstruktion auch durch Fettgewebstransfer von körpereigenem Fett durchgeführt werden. Für diese Technik sind in der Regel 2-3 operative Sitzungen nötig. Die Brustoperation kann, muss aber nicht mit anderen Eingriffen kombiniert werden.
 

Bei der Vaginoplastik wird eine modifizierte Penisinversionstechnik angewendet, wobei in Zusammenarbeit mit den Kolleg:innen der Klinik für Urologie die Schwellkörper und die Hoden entfernt, sowie eine Klitoris, kleine und grosse Schamlippen, eine neue Harnröhrenöffnung und eine Vagina gebildet werden. Je nach individueller Situation können auch einzelne Schritte durchgeführt werden, z.B. die ausschliessliche Entfernung der Hoden (Orchiektomie) oder die Rekonstruktion des äusseren Genitals ohne Bildung einer Vagina (Vulvoplastik).
 

Für die Gesichtsfeminisierung stehen verschiedene Eingriffe, wie Nasenkorrektur (Rhinoplastik), Kinn- und Kieferverschmälerung, Brauenlift oder Haarlinienkorrektur, zur Verfügung. Letztere Operationen werden teilweise in Zusammenarbeit mit der Mund-Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie durchgeführt. Daneben bestehen minimal invasive Möglichkeiten durch Einsatz von Hyaluronsäurefillern sowie Fettgewebetransfer zum Aufbau weiblicher Gesichtskonturen, insbesondere im Lippen- und Wangenbereich.
 

Die Reduktion des Adamsapfels über einen submentalen Zugang erzielt. Gelegentlich kann der Eingriff in Kombination mit einer feminisierenden Stimmoperation kombiniert werden.
 

Falls keine Erhöhung der Sprechstimme durch die logopädische Behandlung möglich war, können verschiedene chirurgische Massnahmen zum Zuge kommen. Es bedarf einer genauen Abklärung (Stimmanalyse, Computertomogramm Kehlkopf, Grösse des Adamsapfels) und individuellen Beratung, um letztlich die anzuwenden OP-Technik entscheiden zu können.

Zur Bildung einer männlichen Brust ist die Entfernung der Brustdrüse (Mastektomie) nötig. Oft werden die Brustwarzen verkleinert und nach aussen verlagert, um damit ein möglichst ansprechendes Erscheinungsbild zu erreichen. Je nach individueller Situation sind verschiedene Techniken möglich. 
 

Die Gebärmutter- und Eierstockentfernung erfolgen minimalinvasiv mittels Laparoskopie (Bauchspiegelung). Hierbei werden diese Organe über die Vagina entfernt und diese wird am oberen Ende verschlossen. 
 

Falls im weiteren Verlauf auch eine Penisbildung (Phalloplastik) gewünscht ist, wird eine kombinierte Entfernung der Scheide, Gebärmutter und Eierstöcke empfohlen. In diesem Fall wird die Scheide zunächst von oben mittels Bauchspiegelung präpariert, anschliessend wird der Rest der Scheide von unten (vaginaler Zugang) entfernt und die Vulva verschlossen.

Sind bei einer Voroperation die Entfernung der Gebärmutter und Eierstöcke bereits erfolgt, kann die Scheide direkt durch einen vaginalen Zugang erfolgen. Hierbei wird das Vaginalgewebe entfernt und anschliessend die Vulva verschlossen.
 

Zur Bildung eines Penis (Phalloplastik) werden weltweit verschiedene Techniken angeboten. Die zwei etabliertesten Techniken (Radialislappenplastik und die Antero-Lateral-Tigh-(ALT)-Lappenplastik) gehören zu den Standardverfahren unseres plastisch-chirurgischen und urologischen Teams:

  • Bei der Radialislappenplastik wird ein Stück vom Unterarm, mit welcher in einem gemeinsamen Schritt sowohl der Penis als auch die Harnröhre gebildet werden, verwendet. 
  • Da diese Radialislappenplastik eine grosse Narbe am Unterarm sowie häufig auch Sensibilitätsstörungen hinterlässt, bieten wir als Alternative eine Phalloplastik mit Gewebe vom Oberschenkel an (ALT-Lappenplastik). Damit lässt sich eine zirkuläre Narbe am Arm vermeiden, die Narbe am Oberschenkel ist beim Tragen von kurzen Hosen nicht sichtbar.

Unabhängig von der Phalloplastiktechnik, werden weiter ein Hodensack (Scrotumplastik) und eine Eichel (Coronaplastik) gebildet. Als letzter Schritt können je nach individuellen Bedürfnissen Penisimplantate (Hydraulische oder semirigide Penispumpe) und Hodenimplantate (Silikon) eingelegt werden. 
 

Zwecks Geschlechtsanpassung im Gesichtsbereich werden Konturierungsmassnahmen, wie z.B. Kinn- und Unterkieferaufbau mit Umstellungsosteotomien oder Implantaten und Hyaluronsäurefillern angeboten. Diese Eingriffe werden teilweise in Zusammenarbeit mit der Mund-Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie durchgeführt werden. 

Am Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz haben die Behandlungssuchenden den Vorteil, dass sie diese mit einer spezialisierten Pflegefachperson (Advance Practice Nurse; APN), die sich auf diesem Gebiet spezialisiert hat, ihre Fragen und Anliegen besprechen können.

 

Begleitung vor OP
In Anbetracht der aktuellen medizinisch-rechtlichen Voraussetzungen, welche eine «ärztliche» Bestätigung der Diagnosen Geschlechtsdysphorie bzw. Geschlechtsinkongruenz verlangt, damit die Kostenträger*innen die medizinischen geschlechtsangleichenden Leistungen übernehmen, richtet sich das von der APN durchgeführte Eintritts-Assessment zunächst auf die Erfassung der «Geschlechtsbiographie» der Behandlungssuchenden aus. Ebenfalls wird bereits hier anhand der berichteten Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz-verursachten Probleme ein individueller Transitionsplan auf einer Shared-Decision-Making-Basis festgelegt. 


Schliesslich werden sowohl die Diagnose als auch der Plan mit dem psychiatrischen Leiter des Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz im Rahmen eines gemeinsamen Gesprächs besprochen und festgelegt. Darauffolgend werden die vereinbarten Überweisungen an die anderen Teammitglieder (z. B. Dermatologie, Endokrinologie, Phoniatrie) betätigt. Je nach individuellen Bedürfnissen werden weitere Folgetermine mit der APN vereinbart, in deren Rahmen die Wirksamkeit der eingeleiteten Massnahmen besprochen und allfällige Korrekturen oder Ergänzungen eingeleitet werden können. 


Bei manchen Behandlungssuchenden stehen eher die sozialen Aspekte der Transition (z. B. Durchführung des Coming-out in der Familie oder an der Arbeitsstelle), während sich andere Behandlungssuchende hauptsächlich für medizinische (Unterstützung bei der Entscheidungsfindung hinsichtlich Massnahmen, Erwartungen an die operativen Resultate) Fragen interessieren. Das trägt zur Optimierung der Transitionsresultaten bei. Erfahrungsgemäss verkürzt der Einsatz einer Koordinationsstelle die Kommunikationswege inner- und ausserhalb des Spitals massiv, was die Qualität und Zufriedenheit mit den verschiedenen medizinischen Interventionen verbessert.
 

Begleitung während OP-Prozess
Die APN ist mit dem Ablauf im Spital vertraut und arbeitet eng zusammen mit dem Pflegeteam auf den Stationen und mit dem Ärzteteam des Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz. Individuelle Fragen und Anliegen können somit bereits vor einem geplanten Spitalaufenthalt geklärt werden. Weiter werden die Behandlungssuchenden während des Aufenthalts durch die APN begleitet und individuell unterstützt. 

 

Begleitung nach OP
Auch nach dem Spitalaustritt steht die APN für Fragen bei Unsicherheiten zur Verfügung und ist in die chirurgische Nachbehandlung integriert.

Bei der medizinischen Transition richtet sich der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz an nationalen und internationalen Behandlungsempfehlungen. Hierbei stehen für das Team die individuelle, interprofessionelle und ganzheitliche Beratung und Behandlung jeder Person im Vordergrund. 

Die Aufnahme ins Behandlungsprogramm wird jenen Menschen empfohlen, die am Anfang ihrer medizinischen Transition stehen. Nach der Anmeldung erfolgt einer Kontaktaufnahme durch das Team des Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz, um einen Erstkontakt mit der behandlungssuchenden Person vereinbaren zu können.

 

Eine Transition – und insbesondere eine medizinische – kann viele Fragen hervorrufen, deshalb ist es wichtig in einem Erstgespräch Ihre individuellen Bedürfnisse zu erfassen. Nur so ist es fürs Team möglich, jede Person individuell zu begleiten und zu unterstützen.

 

Die Eintrittsuntersuchung ist zunächst auf die Erfassung der «Geschlechtsbiographie» ausgerichtet und kann sich gelegentlich auf mehrere Sitzungen erstrecken. Hier wird bereits anhand der berichteten Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz-verursachten Probleme ein individueller Transitionsplan auf einer Shared-Decision-Making-Basis  festgelegt.

Dieser Weg empfiehlt sich für jene Personen, die bereits medizinsiche Transitionsschritte (z. B. eine Hormonbehandlung) bereits unternommen haben und sich für einzelne Behandlungsoptionen (z. B. chirurgische Interventionen) interessieren. Nach Erhalt der Anmeldung überprüft das Team, ob die medizinisch-administrativen Voraussetzungen (Bestätigung von Geschlechtsdysphorie und Geschlechtsinkongruenz-Diagnose durch eine:n Ärzt:in, Verlaufsbericht von der Hormonverschreibenden Fachperson)

Der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz arbeitet mit verschiedenen somatischen (Universitäts-Kinderspital beider Basel)

und psychiatrischen Kliniken

aus dem Kinder- und Jugend-, aber auch aus dem Erwachsenenbereich zusammen.


Der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz engagiert sich auch beim fachlichen Austausch sowohl auf der nationalen, europäischen als auch weltweit. Wir stehen zudem im engen Austausch mit Community-basierten Organisationen und Informationsangeboten

Abgeschlossene Projekte:

  • ITES: Internalisierte Transphobie - Experimentelle Studie
  • Trans*Swiss: Zufriedenheit und Lebensqualität von medizinisch posttransitionierten trans Personen

Anmeldung Studierende

Sie überlegen, eine (Bachelor-, Master- oder Doktor-) Arbeit zum Thema «Geschlechtervarianz» zu schreiben? Dann schreiben Sie uns bitte eine E-Mail und hinterlassen Sie uns Ihre Hauptfragen und Anliegen. Wir werden uns bald mit Ihnen in Kontakt setzen.
 

Voraussetzungen
Der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz ist darum bemüht, alle Gesundheitsaspekte von geschlechtervarianten Personen zu verbessern. Dazu gehört auch deren korrekte Darstellung und Wahrnehmung in der Wissenschaft, da gerade dieser Bereich schnell als Grundlage zur Stigmatisierung dieser Bevölkerungsgruppe dienen kann. Im Einklang mit den Empfehlungen der WPATH setzen wir voraus, dass Sie in Ihrer Arbeit eine geschlechterinklusive Sprache verwenden werden. Bei (Matura- und Fachabschluss-)Interviews wird zudem vorausgesetzt, dass basale Kenntnisse über Grundartikel zur Thematik bestehen. 

Das Team des Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Team Endokrinologie

93ece986-62f4-407c-bbd7-14af71a7187a

Prof. Dr. Christian Meier

Leitender Arzt

Endokrinologie, Diabetologie & Metabolismus

Profil anzeigen

391ec333-5e9a-4b77-a989-0dc11cac9f62

PD Dr. Bettina Winzeler

Oberärztin

Endokrinologie, Diabetologie & Metabolismus

Profil anzeigen

Team Reproduktionsmedizin

c23d0074-b4e0-494b-a4a0-2a0c4df2ef7d

Dr. Maddalena Masciocchi

Kaderärztin

Frauenklinik

Team Plastische Chirurgie

bd4f062d-7e5a-4d29-a7ee-734debb64585

Dr. Nadia Menzi

Oberärztin

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

Team Urologie

053f66bf-3954-41d1-a341-7985bef981a4

Dr. Antje Feicke

Leitende Ärztin

Urologie

f95a37dc-084d-47df-8b44-839065a899c8

Emilio Arbelaez

Oberarzt

Urologie

890bfc64-087b-494e-8c9f-6632e25ef651

Dr. Nicole Ebinger Mundorff

Kaderärztin

Urologie

Team HNO

c3f8b5c3-239e-4956-ba05-88e1da01b4ea

Prof. Dr. Claudio Storck

Leitender Arzt, Leiter Phoniatrie

HNO

Team Dermatologie

d6313075-aa29-4e7e-a1ae-4442a2cba29a

Dr. Roberta Vasconcelos

Oberärztin

Dermatologie

Team Gynäkologie

ba4337e2-2b79-417e-95ea-695a5d2fe5ec

Dr. Tilemachos Kavvadias

Kaderarzt

Frauenklinik

Team Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie

231514b9-a65b-49e8-b1ea-b2679845a8be

Prof. Dr. mult. Florian M. Thieringer, MHBA

Chefarzt

Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie

Profil anzeigen

de208e16-e8c8-472c-bd7c-5ff264f5585f

Dr. med. Dr. med. dent. Sead Abazi

Oberarzt

Mund-, Kiefer- und Gesichtschirurgie

Team Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie

dfd34c78-0b29-4ba8-9d9f-1f85829eeaca

Andrea Scheidegger

Assistenzpsychologin

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

Team Pflege

1b8cb0b0-71f5-47bb-945f-44ce8460d274

Nicole Brüll

APN Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

b520b0f2-8219-465a-bd73-d1ebab0127a0

Janusch Labud

Stationsleitung

Chirurgie B4.6

e3f0d891-359e-4072-8f6a-a589838c2abe

Claudia Hauser

Fachleitung Pflege APN

Chirurgie B4.6

be2eb3d1-70f6-47bd-9a1a-a7c863d1a45f

Karin Müller-Wernli

Hauptverantwortliche Berufsbildnerin

Chirurgie B4.6

ca7473f4-a17a-4086-93b1-275879d3630e

Tamara Stalder

Stv. Stationsleitung

Chirurgie B4.6

Team Forschung

c52de98a-6e20-48db-9183-be220ee09bf8

Dr. sc. ETH Laura D. Perler

Wissenschaftliche/r Mitarbeiter/in

Plastische Chirurgie Ärzte

Administration

5eb16fe8-3490-4e40-902a-330c9c0c1a3c

Daniela Casertano

Assistentin der Geschäftsführung

Margarethenklinik

News und Literatur zum Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Sie benötigen fachliche Informationen zum Thema «Geschlechtervarianz» für Ihren Artikel bzw. Recherche? Dann schreiben Sie und bitte eine E-Mail und hinterlassen Sie uns Ihre Hauptfragen und  Anliegen. Wir werden uns bald mit Ihnen in Kontakt setzen.

 

Voraussetzungen
Der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz ist darum bemüht, alle Gesundheitsaspekte von geschlechtervarianten Personen zu verbessern. Dazu gehört auch deren korrekte Darstellung und Wahrnehmung in der Wissenschaft, da gerade dieser Bereich schnell als Grundlage zur Stigmatisierung dieser Bevölkerungsgruppe dienen kann. Im Einklang mit den Empfehlungen der WPATH setzen wir voraus, dass die Artikel, bei denen der Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz interviewt wird oder mitwirkt, sich einer geschlechterinklusiven Sprache, bedienen. 

Haben Sie weitere Fragen oder Kommentare? Dann senden Sie und eine Mail an geschlechtervarianz@usb.ch

Videos

Video zum Innovations-Focus Geschlechtervarianz

Gesundheit heute: Feminisierende Gesichts OP