The Health Communication Service is a specialized area of Internal Medicine and Psychosomatics at the University Hospital Basel. The main focus is on teaching, training and continuing education for students and doctors in the field of communication competence. In addition to practical training, workshops and courses at the University Hospital, one of our main areas of work is teaching communication skills at the university within the longitudinal curriculum of medical studies.

Our services

Communication in doctor-patient conversations forms the basis of good medical treatment and is one of the core competencies of medical practice, along with professionalism and medical expertise. Numerous studies have shown that successful communication can improve patient satisfaction and other patient-relevant outcomes.

Post-ICU Consultation

The POST-ICU CARE special consultation service was established in 2017 for patients and relatives following a critical illness and is a one-of-its-kind flagship project in Switzerland to date. The diverse research activities, e.g. in the area of communication in emergency situations or communication between doctor and patient and family members, aim to promote evidence-based communication at the University Hospital in the long run.

 

The post-ICU consultation is a special consultation for patients and relatives following a critical illness. The aim of this consultation is to talk about and review your stay in the intensive care unit, for example after resuscitation or another critical illness. When it comes to diseases with, oftentimes, complex courses, it is important to ensure where necessary and appropriate that the patient’s medical history is reviewed and the evaluations and therapies are completed.


The consultation services are interprofessional, and psychosocial support is also provided. Difficult issues often arise in matters of life and death, and relatives of intensive care unit patients often develop post-traumatic stress disorder.

Communication Training

Communication training courses for doctors, nurses and students at universities.

 

  • Communication in emergency situations (simulation training)
  • Communication between doctor and patient/relatives
  • Breaking bad news
  • Patient-oriented evidence-based communication

Latest news from the Health Communication Service

Research

Although visits by chief physicians are one of the most important pillars of inpatient care, there is hardly any randomized data on the best approach to patient engagement. The multicentre study carried out at the University Hospital Basel and the Cantonal Hospital Aarau is intended to provide important insights into the preferences of patients as well as nurses and lead to more patient-centered care.

 

During the chief physician’s visit, the patient is discussed in front of the patient’s room and the patient is informed later on, or the chief physician’s visit is carried out in the patient’s room with the patient’s direct participation. There is also a question as to how much the patients understand about their diagnosis, therapy approach, and the next steps in the treatment plan.

 

The data collection for this study is complete and took place between the summer of 2017 and the fall of 2019. The data is currently being evaluated.

 

This study was supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF).

In the Communicate study at the USB, we are currently investigating how and whether a communication strategy can reduce the morbidity of critically ill patients’ relatives, especially with regard to post-traumatic stress disorder.

At the University Hospital Basel, the patient's wishes and preferences with regard to resuscitation in the event of cardiovascular arrest are routinely discussed and documented every time the patient is admitted. Talking about this topic and making a decision is challenging and potentially difficult. In a randomized multicenter study, we are investigating the effect of different communication strategies on the resuscitation conversation. In this context, we are particularly interested in the patients’ perspective. The aim is to help improve the conversation and decision-making about resuscitation.


A systematic review and meta-analysis of the relationship between communication interventions and resuscitation decisions showed that communication interventions, especially resuscitation videos as decision-making aids, were associated with an increased likelihood of patients refusing resuscitation in the event of cardiovascular arrest. In addition, there were indications of a link between communication interventions and increased knowledge about resuscitation.

In patient simulator research, we work with the team from the Medical Intensive Care Unit to investigate the influence of important communication elements such as assertive statements. It has been shown that targeted instruction via assertive communication can significantly improve resuscitation performance. Fortunately, the results of these studies have been incorporated into the resuscitation guidelines of the American Heart Association since 2010. It is now recommended to teach communication skills relating to teamwork and leadership in resuscitation courses. A large multicenter, randomized trial is currently underway with an American center to examine the effect of the leadership role assignment and group size in a resuscitation setting.

“Women perform worse in resuscitation”

 

There are plans to create a communication guide at the University Hospital Basel, and/or Northwestern Switzerland, entitled the «Communication Pocket Guide».

Team

HunzikerS
HunzikerS
HunzikerS

Prof. Sabina Hunziker Schütz

Leitende Ärztin

Medizinische Kommunikation

urbent
urbent
urbent

Tabita Urben

Doktorandin

Medizinische Kommunikation

HuggelE
HuggelE
HuggelE

Erika Huggel

Administrative Mitarbeiterin

Medizinische Kommunikation

La Communication médicale est un service spécialisé de médecine interne et de psychosomatique à l’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle. Nous mettons principalement l’accent sur l’enseignement, la formation initiale et la formation continue des étudiantes et étudiants et des médecins dans le domaine des compétences communicationnelles. Outre les entraînements pratiques, les ateliers et les cours à l’Hôpital universitaire, l’un de nos axes de travail est l’enseignement universitaire sur les aptitudes à la communication dans le cursus longitudinal des études de médecine.

Offre

La communication dans l’entretien médecin-patient constitue la base d’un bon traitement médical et est considérée comme l’une des compétences essentielles des actes médicaux, outre le professionnalisme ou les connaissances médicales. De nombreuses études ont démontré qu’une communication réussie peut améliorer la satisfaction des patientes et patients et d’autres paramètres pertinents.

Consultation post-UCI

La consultation spéciale POST ICU CARE (suite à des soins intensifs) a été mise en place en 2017 pour les patientes/patients et leurs proches atteints d’une maladie critique. Il s’agit d’un projet phare unique en Suisse à ce jour. Les diverses activités de recherche, par exemple dans le domaine de la communication dans les situations d’urgence ou de la communication entre le médecin et le patient et ses proches, ont pour but de promouvoir durablement la communication basée sur des données probantes à l’Hôpital universitaire.

 

La consultation post-UCI est une consultation spécialisée pour les patients et les proches atteints d’une maladie critique. L’objectif de cette consultation est de parler à nouveau du séjour à l’unité de soins intensifs et de revoir les informations, par exemple après une réanimation ou une autre maladie critique. Dans le cas des pathologies le plus souvent complexes, il convient, lorsque cela est nécessaire et judicieux, de réexaminer les antécédents médicaux et de compléter les examens et les traitements.


Nous proposons des consultations interprofessionnelles et un soutien psychosocial est également assuré. Bien souvent, il est nécessaire d’aborder des questions difficiles entre la vie et la mort et il n’est pas rare que les proches de patientes ou patients en soins intensifs développent des troubles du stress post-traumatique.

Formation à la communication

Offres de formation à la communication pour les médecins, le personnel soignant et les étudiantes et étudiants des universités.

 

  • Communication dans les situations d’urgence (formation par simulation)
  • Communication entre le médecin et le/la patient(e)/proche
  • Breaking Bad News / Transmettre de mauvaises nouvelles
  • Communication basée sur des données probantes orientée vers le patient

Actualités du service de communication médicale

Recherche

Bien que la visite du médecin-chef soit l’un des principaux piliers de la prise en charge des patients hospitalisés, il existe peu de données randomisées évaluant la meilleure approche pour intégrer le patient. L’étude multicentrique menée à l’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle et à l’Hôpital cantonal d’Aarau vise à fournir des expériences importantes sur les préférences des patients et du personnel infirmier et à aboutir à des soins davantage centrés sur le patient.

 

Lors de la visite du médecin-chef, le cas est discuté devant la chambre du patient, qui est ensuite informé, ou la visite du médecin-chef est effectuée dans la chambre du patient avec sa participation directe. Il s’agit également de savoir dans quelle mesure les patients ont compris le diagnostic qui a été posé, le concept thérapeutique et les prochaines étapes du plan de traitement.

 

La collecte des données de l’étude est terminée et s’est déroulée de l’été 2017 à l’automne 2019. Les données sont en cours d’évaluation.

 

Cette étude a bénéficié du soutien du Fonds national suisse (FNS).

Dans l’étude Communicate, nous examinons actuellement à l’USB comment et si une stratégie de communication peut réduire la morbidité des proches de patients en phase critique, en particulier en ce qui concerne le stress post-traumatique.

L’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle discute des souhaits et des préférences du patient en matière de réanimation en cas d’arrêt cardiovasculaire à chaque admission et documente les informations obtenues. Il est difficile d’aborder ce sujet et de prendre une décision. Dans une étude multicentrique randomisée, nous examinons l’effet de différentes stratégies de communication sur la conversation de réanimation. À cet égard, le point de vue des patients nous intéresse particulièrement. L’objectif est de contribuer à améliorer la conversation et la prise de décision en matière de réanimation.


Revue systématique et méta-analyse du lien entre les interventions de communication et les décisions de réanimation Les interventions de communication, en particulier les vidéos de réanimation utilisées comme aide à la décision, ont été associées à une probabilité accrue de refus par les patients des mesures de réanimation en cas d’arrêt cardiovasculaire. En outre, un lien a été mis en évidence entre les interventions de communication et l’amélioration des connaissances sur la réanimation.

Dans la recherche sur les simulateurs de patients, nous examinons, de concert avec l’équipe de l’unité médicale de soins intensifs, l’influence d’éléments de communication importants tels que l’énoncé du dirigeant des opérations. Il s’est avéré que des instructions ciblées sur la communication du dirigeant peuvent améliorer significativement les performances de réanimation. Nous sommes heureux que les résultats de ces études aient été intégrés aux lignes directrices en matière de réanimation de l’American Heart Association depuis 2010. Il est désormais recommandé d’enseigner des compétences communicationnelles concernant le travail d’équipe et le comportement de direction dans les cours de réanimation. Une vaste étude multicentrique randomisée est en cours, en collaboration avec un centre américain, afin d’examiner l’influence de la désignation d’un dirigeant et de la taille du groupe de participants dans la situation de réanimation.

«Frauen schneiden schlechter ab beim Reanimieren» (les femmes obtiennent de moins bons résultats en réanimation)

 

Nous avons le projet de créer un guide sur la communication à l’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle ou dans les établissements du nord-ouest de la Suisse.

Équipe

HunzikerS
HunzikerS
HunzikerS

Prof. Sabina Hunziker Schütz

Leitende Ärztin

Medizinische Kommunikation

urbent
urbent
urbent

Tabita Urben

Doktorandin

Medizinische Kommunikation

HuggelE
HuggelE
HuggelE

Erika Huggel

Administrative Mitarbeiterin

Medizinische Kommunikation