Every year, we treat more than 200 patients with newly discovered breast cancer at the Breast Center, providing them with optimal care in close interdisciplinary cooperation using the latest diagnostic and treatment techniques.

Each patient is discussed with us before and after any surgery in a joint consultation to determine the next steps. Your personal needs are always the focus of our attention.

You will be accompanied by a specialized nurse, a Breast Care Nurse, throughout the entire clarification and treatment process.

Appointments by arrangement

Monday: 8.00 a.m. - 12.00 p.m. and 1.00 p.m. - 4.30 p.m.

Tuesday: 9.30 a.m. - 12.00 p.m. and 1.00 p.m. - 4.30 p.m.

Wednesday: 8.00 a.m. - 12.00 p.m. and 1.00 p.m. - 4.30 p.m.

Thursday: 9.00 a.m. - 12.00 p.m. and 1.00 p.m. - 4.30 p.m.

Friday: 8.00 a.m. - 12.00 p.m. and 1.00 p.m. - 4.30 p.m.


Registration Breast Clinic
Phone +41 61 265 91 19
brustklinik@usb.ch

Management

7dfa4767-4379-448b-aa56-247698498ccc

Prof. Christian Kurzeder

Co-Leiter Brustklinik, Chefarzt Senologie

Brustklinik

, Leiter Innovations-Focus Krebserkrankungen der Frau

d9f179f8-4f74-4ed0-85e1-e1f66ff800d3

Prof. Walter Paul Weber

Co-Leiter Brustklinik, Chefarzt Brustchirurgie

Brustklinik

, Ärztlicher Departementsleiter, Departement Brust, Bauch und Becken, Stv. Leiter Brustzentrum

Show profile

Center Coordination Certification

Management body

d7753579-9dc3-4681-9934-9123ce3fb19f

PD Dr. Nicole Bürki

Kaderärztin

Frauenklinik

Genetische Beratung

317de855-9142-4b8b-950b-785679041c4b

Dr. Anna-Lena Eberhardt

Spezialärztin

Radioonkologie

b1fcf8b3-941f-410e-8654-8319dab6349c

Dr. Sonja Ebner

Gastärztin

Kantonsspital Baselland

37628e1d-9582-4888-ac37-ba9ef8fbd8f0

Prof. Martin Haug

Leitender Arzt/ Stv. Chefarzt

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

c405dd1f-058b-4c73-88c8-dbc1746f339b

Marianne Kläusler

Departementsfachleitung Pflege/MTT

Departement Brust, Bauch, Becken

81fd5d94-65f1-4063-b1f2-75e88fd3b50c

Dr. David König

Oberarzt / Leitung Klinische Forschung

medizinische Onkologie FMH, allgemeine Innere Medizin FMH, Leitung klinische Forschung

Thoraxtumore, zelluläre Therapien

Show profile

c9fd62b8-624f-4638-98f5-a39384e7d149

Dr. Janna Krol

Oberärztin

Brustklinik

059300e5-3ecd-4b70-b6cf-5dfc15667146

Prof. Simone Münst Soysal

Kaderärztin

Pathologie

Gynäko- und Mammapathologie, Kopf-/Hals-Pathologie

59800980-2870-4fb8-abf0-367b456ff88f

Daniela Richner

APN Breast Care Nurse

Brustklinik

010e149c-418b-4c5c-b2ed-bb7d4e09d09b

Dr. Noemi Schmidt - EBBI

Leitung Mammadiagnostik, Kaderärztin, Mitglied Tumorzentrum

Radiologie und Nuklearmedizin

Mitglied Tumorzentrum

cb129a8b-0b68-45cc-9b7b-6d0ae243739c

PD Dr. phil. Corinne Urech

Leitende Psychologin

Gynäkologische Sozialmedizin und Psychosomatik

Show profile

452dd741-4406-460d-becf-beb0bb22b3a0

PD Dr. Marcus Vetter

Chefarzt

Onkologie und Hämatologie

Kantonsspital Baselland

Secretariat

Our offer

What happens after a lump is found in the breast? What are the next steps if something abnormal is found during an examination? Women suspected of having breast cancer want to have clarity about their situation as quickly as possible. The team at the Breast Center helps patients and is there for them at every stage.

Early detection of breast cancer increases the chances of recovery, enables gentler treatment and thus improves quality of life. This is why the Breast Center of the University Hospital Basel participates in the mammography screening program of the Canton of Basel City.

As part of the program, women aged 50 and over are invited to a screening examination every two years. Participation in the program is voluntary.

A mammography machine with the latest digital technology is available for the examination at the University Hospital Basel, which works in a radiation-saving manner. Thanks to the special image, even small tumors become visible long before they can be detected by palpation or other symptoms.

The screening program is subject to high quality standards, which are continuously reviewed and further developed. The mammograms are taken by specially trained specialists and evaluated by experienced radiologists.

Further information on the program

Online registration
Cancer League Basel
Appointment management

Telephone registration
University Hospital Basel, Breast Diagnostics Radiology
Monday to Friday, 08:00-12:00 and 13:00-17:00
Phone +41 61 265 91 50

The best time

It is about eight days after your period because the breasts are softer then than before your period and it is easier to detect changes. Post-menopausal women should simply remember a specific date each month.

A critical look

Stand in front of a mirror and look at your breasts with your arms raised and lowered. Do you notice that one breast is larger than the other? This is normal. Turn to the left and right. Put your arms on your hips and tense your chest muscles. Lean forward, with and without tensing the muscles, and look for any changes in the shape and size of the breasts, as well as any protrusions or indentations, redness, thickening or hardening of the skin.

Look for bloody discharge from the nipple or first-time indentations as well as inflammatory changes. If you feel a change, perhaps a lump, remember that four out of five breast lumps are harmless. Check the same area of the other breast. If it feels similar, this is a good sign that you are dealing with normal breast tissue. However, if there is no similarity, please inform the doctor. Remember: You should only notice changes in your breast, not make a diagnosis.

Representation of a breast

The breast extends from the collarbone to the fold of the breast and from the breastbone to a line that runs through the middle of the armpit. Use your right hand to examine the left breast and vice versa.

Representation of a breast

Place the front sections of your index, middle and ring fingers flat next to each other. At each point you are examining, feel with these three fingers in three circular movements over an area about the size of a 1-franc piece. Lumps can develop at different depths in the breast. Therefore, use only light pressure for the first circular movement, medium pressure for the second and strong pressure for the third.

Representation of a breast

The ideal position for the palpation examination is lying down - in a semi-sideways position. To do this, first turn sideways with your legs bent and then turn your shoulder back to the supine position. This ensures that the breast is evenly distributed on the chest, with the nipple at the highest point.

Representation of a breast

Start the palpation in the middle of the armpit and move the fingers up and down in parallel paths. At each point of the breast you are examining, palpate with the flat front sections of the three middle fingers. Carry out three circular movements with three different levels of pressure.

Representation of a breast

Finally, examine the regions above and below the collarbone in horizontal lines.

The first important step in the clarification process is the X-ray examination of your diseased breast, the mammogram. You will be looked after by specialized radiologists and experienced medical-technical radiology specialists (MTRAs). Breast cancer screening is carried out using state-of-the-art equipment: the Breast Center has digital mammography including tomosynthesis (3D imaging method of high-resolution tomograms from different angles), ultrasound and magnetic resonance imaging (MR mammography). You can also submit findings from another hospital or practice to us for a second assessment.

Benign or malignant? If abnormalities are discovered during the breast examination, these findings will be clarified by means of a tissue sample (biopsy). Tissue samples can be taken with extreme precision under image control using mammography, ultrasound or MR mammography. It then takes a few days for you and your doctor to receive the results of the examination.

Contact breast diagnostics radiology:
Head: Dr. Noemi Schmidt
Appointments by arrangement
Monday to Friday 08.00-12.00 and 13.00-17.00
Phone +41 61 265 91 50

Pathology deals with the examination of tissue samples and cell material taken during a biopsy. All tissue samples are first examined under a microscope. Using a wide range of additional examination methods, the benign or malignant findings can be differentiated even better. These additional examinations contribute to treatment planning. For example, each breast carcinoma is examined to determine whether the tumor cells contain hormone receptors. If this is the case, treatment with hormone receptors may be advisable. During an operation, pathology specialists support the surgeons with frozen section examinations, the immediate examination of the operated tissue. Pathologists are indispensable participants in tumor conferences because, among other things, they determine the type of tumor.

Sometimes a genetic test (DNA analysis) can be useful, especially if there is a high incidence of cancer in your family. The most important clues come from your family history, in which specific questions are asked about cancers of the breast, ovaries, pancreas and prostate in blood relatives. In a detailed consultation, your individual risk of breast or ovarian cancer is determined with the help of family tree analyses and, if necessary, a genetic test is recommended.

The radical surgical techniques of earlier times are history - today, breast-conserving surgery is possible for many patients. Surgery is becoming increasingly gentle and is no longer seen in isolation, but as an essential part of interdisciplinary cooperation. Patients can rest assured that they are in good hands at the Breast Center.

Oncoplastic surgery

The surgical focus is on modern oncoplastic surgery, which has been offered in close collaboration with plastic surgery since 2011. By combining tumor surgery and plastic-reconstructive surgical techniques, it enables optimal cosmetic results in both breast conservation and breast removal. With this surgical method, we can remove the tumor and also address your wishes regarding breast modulation.

Surgery of the armpit

Whereas in the past most of the lymph nodes in the armpit were removed, today only the sentinel lymph node is usually removed first. In the majority of cases, these sentinel lymph nodes are without tumor involvement, so that the removal of the remaining axillary lymph nodes can be dispensed with. New study results have shown that in many patients, even if there are tumor deposits in the sentinel lymph nodes, the removal of the remaining lymph nodes in the armpit can be dispensed with. This makes the procedure smaller and the surgical technique gentler.

Plastic surgery

Breast reconstruction after tumor surgery is part of the holistic treatment at the Breast Center. You will receive detailed advice on various aspects of breast reconstruction as soon as the treatment concept is determined following your tumor diagnosis. The entire spectrum of breast reconstruction, including complex microsurgical procedures with autologous tissue, is available to you at the Breast Center.

Your aesthetic perception and well-being in your own body are important to us. Together with our qualified specialists in plastic, reconstructive and aesthetic surgery, you can discuss your individual wishes and the various options for breast reconstruction.

Further information:

Breast reconstruction - information about the surgical options

Radiotherapy is also an integral part of breast cancer treatment and promotes healing in over half of breast cancer cases. It is also an important part of symptom-relieving tumor treatment. We will inform you in detail about the exact procedure, effects and other details before the start of treatment so that you have a better idea of what radiotherapy will do in your particular case and what you can expect.

Thanks to state-of-the-art technology, we direct the therapeutic X-rays specifically and very precisely into the tumor region. The team at the University Hospital has particular experience in the following types of therapy: intensity-modulated radiotherapy (IMRT), image-guided radiotherapy (IGRT), stereotactic radiotherapy to the head and trunk of the body, radiosurgery, biological therapy planning and brachytherapy, also known as minimally invasive short-distance therapy.

Our team offers patients continuous treatment during drug therapy for tumors. The offer includes all drug therapies (chemo- and hormone therapies, antibody infusions, modern molecular drugs).

At your request, we can take part in national and international studies to optimize therapy and test new substances. This is often a unique opportunity to receive promising new therapies that would otherwise not be approved.

In addition to medical therapy, the Breast Center offers you targeted psycho-oncological care. In the form of counseling, we support you in finding your emotional balance, security and orientation again and in dealing better with worries and fears. You can take advantage of this support both during your inpatient stay and during outpatient aftercare.

Further information

Breast tumors often require surgery, which can lead to changes in the patient's body image. Chemotherapy, radiotherapy and hormone therapies have side effects. What can I expect during my treatment? We specialize in such issues and support patients throughout the entire disease process, from diagnosis to tumour aftercare. We offer sound advice on the effects and symptoms of the therapies and talk about any changes in body perception after an operation. Our nursing team is complemented by specialized nursing staff, so-called Breast Care Nurses . We make contact with the patients as soon as the diagnosis is made, accompany them through the hospitalization and are also the contact persons for questions afterwards.

59800980-2870-4fb8-abf0-367b456ff88f

Daniela Richner

APN Breast Care Nurse

Brustklinik

Our Breast Care Nurses advise and support you and your relatives throughout the entire course of your illness: from diagnosis to the end of treatment and beyond your stay in hospital. The qualified nurses, who specialize in the care and support of breast cancer patients and their relatives, will answer your questions about coping with everyday life and therapy.

Your Breast Care Nurse will also support you with psychosocial stress, body image work and role changes in the family and at work. Furthermore, she will show you how to optimally care for and treat the surgical scars after breast surgery and will advise you on the selection of suitable support services. Your Breast Care Nurse will also inform you about additional offers, such as the "Look Good ... Feel Better" workshop, in which professional beauty consultants guide our patients through a 12-step beauty program.

Our Breast Care Nurses work closely with the social services and psycho-oncology departments and remain your point of contact for questions and concerns even after your treatment has ended.

Breast Center
Clinic 1, 1st floor
Spitalstrasse 21
4031 Basel



Monday to Friday 8.00-15.00
Phone +41 61 328 79 54
breastcarenurse@usb.ch

Die im Brustzentrum integrierte Mamma-Sprechstunde ist für Frauen mit gutartigen und bösartigen Brusterkrankungen gedacht. Frauen mit erhöhtem Brustkrebsrisiko werden in der Sprechstunde individuell beraten und erhalten eine Vorsorgeuntersuchung. Auch Schwangere und Stillende mit Brustproblemen können die Mamma-Sprechstunde aufsuchen.

 

Sie können sich selber zur Mamma-Sprechstunde anmelden oder sich von Ihrem Hausarzt überweisen lassen. An der ersten Sprechstunde werden Sie von erfahrenen Fachärztinnen und Fachärzten untersucht. Anschliessend wird ein Brustultraschall durchgeführt. Sofern nötig, wird eine Biopsie (Gewebeentnahme) unter Ultraschallkontrolle vorgenommen. Dieser Eingriff geschieht vor Ort und mit örtlicher Betäubung. Die Analyse der Gewebeproben geschieht im Unispital-eigenen Labor.

 

Die Befunde werden in den Tumorkonferenzen, an denen Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Fachbereiche teilnehmen, beurteilt. Die daraus hervorgehenden Vorschläge für diagnostische und therapeutische Massnahmen werden anschliessend mit Ihnen und Ihren Angehörigen ausführlich besprochen. So erstellen wir zusammen mit Ihnen ein auf Sie abgestimmtes Therapieprogramm.

 

Termine nach Vereinbarung

Montag: 8.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Dienstag: 9.30 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Mittwoch: 8.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Donnerstag: 9.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Freitag: 8.00 – 12.00 und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr


Anmeldung Brustklinik
Tel. +41 61 265 91 19
brustklinik@usb.ch

 

Frequently asked questions about breast cancer

FAQ Breast cancer

Are there groups of people who need more intensive screening for breast cancer? - Prof. Christian Kurzeder

What is a Breast Care Nurse? - Andrea Imgraben

When is surgery necessary for breast cancer and what is done? - Prof. Walter Weber

When is the right time for breast reconstruction? - Prof. Martin Haug

Which concerns should I discuss with a Breast Care Nurse? - Daniela Richner

FAQ Breast cancer

Are there groups of people who need more intensive screening for breast cancer? - Prof. Christian Kurzeder

What is a Breast Care Nurse? - Andrea Imgraben

When is surgery necessary for breast cancer and what is done? - Prof. Walter Weber

When is the right time for breast reconstruction? - Prof. Martin Haug

Which concerns should I discuss with a Breast Care Nurse? - Daniela Richner

FAQ Breast cancer

News from the Breast Center

Jedes Jahr behandeln wir im Brustzentrum mehr als 200 Patientinnen mit neu entdecktem Brustkrebs, die wir  in enger fachübergreifender Zusammenarbeit, unter Anwendung der neuesten Abklärungs- und Behandlungstechniken, optimal betreuen.

 

Jede Patientin wird bei uns vor und nach einer allfälligen Operation in einem gemeinsamen Rapport besprochen, um die nächsten Schritte festzulegen. Ihre persönlichen Bedürfnisse stehen dabei immer im Mittelpunkt.

 

Während des gesamten Abklärungs- und Behandlungsverlaufs werden Sie von einer spezialisierten Pflegefachfrau, einer Breast Care Nurse, begleitet.

Termine nach Vereinbarung

Montag: 8.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Dienstag: 9.30 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Mittwoch: 8.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Donnerstag: 9.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Freitag: 8.00 – 12.00 und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr


Anmeldung Brustklinik
Tel. +41 61 265 91 19
brustklinik@usb.ch

 

Leitung

7dfa4767-4379-448b-aa56-247698498ccc

Prof. Christian Kurzeder

Co-Leiter Brustklinik, Chefarzt Senologie

Brustklinik

, Leiter Innovations-Focus Krebserkrankungen der Frau

d9f179f8-4f74-4ed0-85e1-e1f66ff800d3

Prof. Walter Paul Weber

Co-Leiter Brustklinik, Chefarzt Brustchirurgie

Brustklinik

, Ärztlicher Departementsleiter, Departement Brust, Bauch und Becken, Stv. Leiter Brustzentrum

Afficher le profil

Zentrumskoordination Zertifizierung

Leitungsgremium

d7753579-9dc3-4681-9934-9123ce3fb19f

PD Dr. Nicole Bürki

Kaderärztin

Frauenklinik

Genetische Beratung

317de855-9142-4b8b-950b-785679041c4b

Dr. Anna-Lena Eberhardt

Spezialärztin

Radioonkologie

b1fcf8b3-941f-410e-8654-8319dab6349c

Dr. Sonja Ebner

Gastärztin

Kantonsspital Baselland

37628e1d-9582-4888-ac37-ba9ef8fbd8f0

Prof. Martin Haug

Leitender Arzt/ Stv. Chefarzt

Plastische, Rekonstruktive, Ästhetische u.Handchirurgie

c405dd1f-058b-4c73-88c8-dbc1746f339b

Marianne Kläusler

Departementsfachleitung Pflege/MTT

Departement Brust, Bauch, Becken

81fd5d94-65f1-4063-b1f2-75e88fd3b50c

Dr. David König

Oberarzt / Leitung Klinische Forschung

medizinische Onkologie FMH, allgemeine Innere Medizin FMH, Leitung klinische Forschung

Thoraxtumore, zelluläre Therapien

Afficher le profil

c9fd62b8-624f-4638-98f5-a39384e7d149

Dr. Janna Krol

Oberärztin

Brustklinik

059300e5-3ecd-4b70-b6cf-5dfc15667146

Prof. Simone Münst Soysal

Kaderärztin

Pathologie

Gynäko- und Mammapathologie, Kopf-/Hals-Pathologie

59800980-2870-4fb8-abf0-367b456ff88f

Daniela Richner

APN Breast Care Nurse

Brustklinik

010e149c-418b-4c5c-b2ed-bb7d4e09d09b

Dr. Noemi Schmidt - EBBI

Leitung Mammadiagnostik, Kaderärztin, Mitglied Tumorzentrum

Radiologie und Nuklearmedizin

Mitglied Tumorzentrum

cb129a8b-0b68-45cc-9b7b-6d0ae243739c

Dr. phil. Corinne Urech

Leitende Psychologin

Gynäkologische Sozialmedizin und Psychosomatik

Afficher le profil

452dd741-4406-460d-becf-beb0bb22b3a0

PD Dr. Marcus Vetter

Chefarzt

Onkologie und Hämatologie

Kantonsspital Baselland

Sekretariat

Unser Angebot

Un nodule a été repéré à la palpation de votre sein, et après? Quelles sont les étapes suivantes lorsqu’un examen révèle quelque chose d’anormal? Lorsqu’un cancer du sein est suspecté, les femmes souhaitent connaître le plus rapidement possible la situation. L’équipe du Centre du sein aide les patientes et se tient à leurs côtés à chaque étape.

Le dépistage précoce du cancer du sein augmente les chances de guérison, permet un traitement moins invasif et améliore ainsi la qualité de vie. C’est pourquoi le Centre du sein de l’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle participe au programme de dépistage mammographique du canton de Bâle-Ville.

 

Dans le cadre de ce programme, les femmes âgées de 50 ans et plus sont invitées à passer un test de dépistage tous les deux ans. La participation au programme n’est pas obligatoire.

 

Pour l’examen, l’Hôpital universitaire de Bâle dispose d’un appareil de mammographie doté de la technologie numérique la plus récente, qui permet de limiter les radiations. Ces clichés spéciaux rendent également visibles de petites tumeurs bien avant qu’elles soient détectées lors de la palpation ou à travers d’autres symptômes.

 

Le programme de dépistage est soumis à des normes de qualité élevées, qui sont constamment contrôlées et développées. Les mammographies sont réalisées par des spécialistes spécialement formées et interprétées par des radiologues expérimentés.

Plus d’informations sur le programme

Inscription en ligne
Ligue contre le cancer de Bâle
Gestion des rendez-vous

 

Inscription par téléphone
Hôpital universitaire de Bâle, Radiologie de diagnostic mammaire
Du lundi au vendredi, de 8h00 à 12h00 et de 13h00 à 17h00
+41 61 265 91 50

Le meilleur moment

Il se situe environ huit jours après les menstruations, car la poitrine est plus molle qu’avant les règles et vous pouvez mieux détecter les changements. Les femmes ménopausées doivent simplement le faire chaque mois le même jour.

 

Regard critique

Placez-vous devant un miroir et regardez vos seins les bras levés et baissés. Vous avez remarqué qu’un sein est plus gros que l’autre? C’est normal. Tournez-vous à gauche et à droite. Placez vos bras sur les hanches et contractez les muscles de la poitrine. Penchez-vous vers l’avant, avec ou sans contraction des muscles.Soyez attentive à tout changement de forme et de taille des seins.Observez la surface de la peau, recherchez les bosses ou les creux, les rougeurs, les épaississements ou les durcissements de la peau.

 

Prêtez attention aux sécrétions de sang provenant du mamelon ou aux rétractations que vous observez pour la première fois, ainsi qu’aux lésions inflammatoires. Si vous sentez une modification, éventuellement un nodule, souvenez-vous que quatre nodules mammaires sur cinq sont inoffensifs. Vérifiez la même région sur l’autre sein. Si la sensation est la même, c’est un signe que vous avez affaire à un tissu mammaire normal. S’il n’y a pas de similitude, veuillez en informer votre médecin. Rappelez-vous: vous devez seulement constater les changements dans votre poitrine, mais pas poser de diagnostic.

Représentation d’une poitrine

Le sein s’étend de la clavicule au repli de la poitrine et du sternum à une ligne passant par le milieu de l’aisselle. Avec la main droite, examinez le sein gauche et vice versa.

Représentation d’une poitrine

Placez le bout de l’index, du majeur et de l’annulaire à plat l’un à côté de l’autre. À n’importe quel endroit que vous examinez, palpez avec ces trois doigts en trois mouvements circulaires sur une surface de la taille d’une pièce de 1 franc environ. Les nodules peuvent apparaître à différentes profondeurs du sein. Par conséquent, appuyez légèrement lors du premier mouvement circulaire, appliquez une pression moyenne lors du second, et une pression forte lors du troisième.

Représentation d’une poitrine

La position couchée semi-latérale est idéale pour l’auto-palpation. Pour ce faire, tournez-vous d’abord sur le côté avec les jambes pliées, puis replacez votre épaule à plat sur le matelas. Ainsi, les seins sont répartis uniformément sur la poitrine, le mamelon constituant le point culminant.

Représentation d’une poitrine

Commencez l’auto-palpation au milieu de l’aisselle et déplacez les doigts en traçant des lignes parallèles de haut en bas. À chaque endroit de la poitrine que vous examinez, palpez avec le bout des trois doigts du milieu mis à plat. Effectuez à chaque fois trois mouvements circulaires avec trois niveaux de pression différents.

Représentation d’une poitrine

Enfin, examinez les régions situées au-dessus et au-dessous de la clavicule horizontalement.

La première étape importante de l’examen est la radiographie de votre sein malade, la mammographie. Vous serez accompagnée par des radiologues spécialisés et des techniciens en radiologie médicale (TRM) expérimentés. Le dépistage précoce du cancer du sein s’effectue à l’aide d’appareils ultramodernes: Ainsi, le Centre du sein dispose d’un système de mammographie numérique avec tomosynthèse (imagerie 3D par tomographie haute résolution sous différents angles), d’échographie et d’imagerie par résonance magnétique (mammographie par IRM). Vous pouvez également nous soumettre les résultats obtenus dans un autre hôpital ou un autre cabinet pour une deuxième évaluation.

 

Bénin ou malin? Si des anomalies ont été décelées lors de l’examen mammaire, ces résultats sont examinés au moyen d’un prélèvement tissulaire (biopsie). Les prélèvements de tissus peuvent être effectués avec une extrême précision sous contrôle par mammographie, échographie ou mammographie par IRM. Quelques jours suffisent ensuite pour que vous et votre médecin traitant receviez les résultats de l’examen.

Contact Radiologie mammaire:
Direction: Dr Noemi Schmidt
Sur rendez-vous
Du lundi au vendredi de 8h00 à 12h00 et de 13h00 à 17h00
Tél. +41 61 265 91 50

La pathologie consiste à examiner les échantillons de tissus et de cellules prélevés lors d’une biopsie. Tous les échantillons de tissus sont d’abord examinés au microscope. Un large éventail d’autres méthodes de dépistage permettent de mieux différencier les anomalies bénignes ou malignes. Ces examens complémentaires contribuent à la planification du traitement. Par exemple, chaque tumeur cancéreuse du sein est examinée pour vérifier si les cellules tumorales contiennent des récepteurs hormonaux. Si tel est le cas, un traitement par des récepteurs hormonaux peut être judicieux. Pendant une intervention chirurgicale, les médecins spécialistes en pathologie assistent les chirurgiens grâce à des examens extemporanés, des examens immédiats du tissu opéré. La participation des pathologistes aux comités consultatifs sur les tumeurs est indispensable, notamment parce qu’ils déterminent le type de tumeur.

 

Parfois, un test génétique (analyse de l’ADN) peut s’avérer utile, surtout si les cancers sont plus fréquents dans votre famille que dans la population moyenne. Les principaux indices proviennent de vos antécédents familiaux, déterminés à l’aide de questions spécifiques sur les cancers du sein, des ovaires, du pancréas et de la prostate chez les membres de votre famille. Lors d’un entretien de conseil approfondi, des analyses généalogiques permettent d’évaluer votre risque individuel de cancer du sein ou de l’ovaire et de recommander un test génétique si nécessaire.

 

Les techniques chirurgicales radicales d’autrefois font partie de l’histoire ancienne – de nombreuses patientes peuvent aujourd’hui subir une intervention chirurgicale avec préservation des seins. Les interventions sont de moins en moins invasives et ne sont plus considérées isolément, mais comme faisant partie intégrante de la coopération interdisciplinaire. Au Centre du sein, les patientes ont la garantie d’être entre de bonnes mains.

Chirurgie oncoplastique

Nous mettons l’accent sur la chirurgie oncoplastique moderne, proposée depuis 2011 en étroite collaboration avec la chirurgie plastique. Elle permet d’obtenir des résultats optimaux sur le plan esthétique grâce à la combinaison de techniques de chirurgie tumorale et de reconstruction plastique, tant pour la préservation des seins que pour leur ablation. Avec cette méthode chirurgicale, nous pouvons retirer la tumeur et tenir compte de vos souhaits concernant la redéfinition de votre poitrine.

 

Chirurgie de l’aisselle

Alors qu’autrefois la plupart des ganglions lymphatiques de l’aisselle étaient retirés, on commence généralement aujourd’hui par extraire uniquement le ganglion lymphatique sentinelle, dans un premier temps. Dans la plupart des cas, ces ganglions sentinelles ne sont pas atteints de tumeur, de sorte qu’il n’est pas nécessaire d’enlever les autres ganglions lymphatiques de l’aisselle. De nouveaux résultats d’études ont montré que, chez de nombreuses patientes, l’ablation des autres ganglions lymphatiques de l’aisselle n’est pas nécessaire, même en cas de dépôts tumoraux dans les ganglions sentinelles. Ainsi, l’intervention est plus minime et la technique opératoire moins invasive.

 

Chirurgie plastique

Au Centre du sein, la restauration mammaire après une chirurgie tumorale s’inscrit dans le traitement global. Dès lors que vous définissez le concept thérapeutique après votre diagnostic de tumeur, vous recevez des conseils complets sur les différents aspects de la restauration mammaire. Au Centre du sein, vous disposez de tout l’éventail de la reconstruction mammaire, y compris des procédures microchirurgicales complexes avec des tissus propres.

 

Votre ressenti esthétique et votre bien-être corporel nous tiennent à cœur. Avec nos spécialistes qualifiés en chirurgie plastique, reconstructive et esthétique, vous pouvez discuter de vos souhaits individuels et des différentes possibilités de reconstruction mammaire. 

 

Pour de plus amples informations: 

Reconstruction mammaire – Informations sur les possibilités opératoires

La radiothérapie fait également partie intégrante du traitement du cancer du sein et favorise la guérison dans plus de la moitié des cas. Elle est également un élément important du traitement symptomatique de la tumeur. Nous vous informons en détail de la procédure exacte, de l’effet et d’autres aspects avant le début du traitement, afin que vous puissiez mieux comprendre les effets de la radiothérapie dans votre cas particulier et ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre.

 

Grâce aux techniques les plus modernes, nous dirigeons les rayons X thérapeutiques de manière ciblée et très précise dans la région tumorale. L’équipe de l’Hôpital universitaire a une expérience particulière dans les types de thérapies suivants:  la radiothérapie conformationnelle par modulation d’intensité (IMRT), la radiothérapie guidée par l’image (IGRT), l’irradiation stéréotaxique de la tête et du tronc, la radiochirurgie, la planification thérapeutique en fonction de spécificités biologiques et la curiethérapie, également appelée brachythérapie.

 

Notre équipe propose aux patientes un traitement continu pendant le traitement médicamenteux des tumeurs. L’offre comprend tous les traitements médicamenteux (chimiothérapies et hormonothérapies, perfusions d’anticorps, médicaments moléculaires modernes).

 

Si vous le souhaitez, il est possible de participer à des études nationales et internationales d’optimisation thérapeutique et d’expérimentation de nouvelles substances. Il s’agit souvent d’une occasion unique de bénéficier de nouveaux traitements prometteurs qui ne seraient pas autorisés autrement.

 

Le Centre du sein vous propose, en complément du traitement médical, un suivi psycho-oncologique ciblé. Sous la forme de conseils, nous vous aidons à retrouver votre équilibre émotionnel, votre sécurité et vos repères, ainsi qu’à mieux gérer vos inquiétudes et vos angoisses. Vous pouvez bénéficier de ce soutien aussi bien pendant votre hospitalisation que pendant le suivi ambulatoire.

 

Plus d’informations

 

Les tumeurs mammaires peuvent souvent nécessiter des interventions chirurgicales, qui se répercutent sur l’apparence de la personne. La chimiothérapie, la radiothérapie et les hormonothérapies entraînent des effets secondaires. Qu’est-ce qui m’attend lors de mon traitement? Nous sommes spécialisés dans ces questions et nous accompagnons les patientes tout au long du processus de la maladie, depuis le diagnostic jusqu’au suivi post-tumoral. Dans ce cadre, nous offrons des conseils éclairés sur les effets et les conséquences des traitements, et nous discutons d’une éventuelle modification de la perception corporelle après toute intervention chirurgicale. Notre équipe soignante est complétée par des infirmières spécialisées, appelées Breast Care Nurses. Nous prenons contact avec les patientes dès la pose du diagnostic, nous les accompagnons tout au long de l’hospitalisation et sommes également leurs interlocuteurs pour les questions ultérieures.

59800980-2870-4fb8-abf0-367b456ff88f

Daniela Richner

APN Breast Care Nurse

Brustklinik

Nos Breast Care Nurses vous conseillent et vous accompagnent, vous et vos proches, tout au long de la maladie: depuis le diagnostic jusqu’à la fin du traitement et au-delà de l’hospitalisation. Les infirmières diplômées spécialisées dans les soins et l’accompagnement des patientes atteintes d’un cancer du sein et de leurs proches répondent à vos questions sur la gestion du quotidien et le traitement.

 

Votre Breast Care Nurse vous soutient également en cas de difficultés psychosociales, de modification de l’apparence et de changements de rôles sur le plan familial et professionnel. Elle vous montre également comment soigner au mieux les cicatrices après l’opération mammaire et vous conseille dans le choix des offres de soutien adaptées.  Votre Breast Care Nurse vous informe aussi sur des offres supplémentaires, telles que l’atelier «Look Good … Feel Better», dans le cadre duquel des conseillères en esthétique professionnelles accompagnent nos patientes à travers un programme de beauté en 12 étapes.

 

Nos Breast Care Nurses travaillent en étroite collaboration avec le service social et la psycho-oncologie, et continuent à répondre à vos questions et préoccupations même après la fin du traitement.

Centre du sein
Centre hospitalier universitaire 1, 1er étage
Spitalstrasse 21
4031 Bâle



Du lundi au vendredi de 8h00 à 15h00
Tél. +41 61 328 79 54
breastcarenurse@usb.ch

Die im Brustzentrum integrierte Mamma-Sprechstunde ist für Frauen mit gutartigen und bösartigen Brusterkrankungen gedacht. Frauen mit erhöhtem Brustkrebsrisiko werden in der Sprechstunde individuell beraten und erhalten eine Vorsorgeuntersuchung. Auch Schwangere und Stillende mit Brustproblemen können die Mamma-Sprechstunde aufsuchen.

 

Sie können sich selber zur Mamma-Sprechstunde anmelden oder sich von Ihrem Hausarzt überweisen lassen. An der ersten Sprechstunde werden Sie von erfahrenen Fachärztinnen und Fachärzten untersucht. Anschliessend wird ein Brustultraschall durchgeführt. Sofern nötig, wird eine Biopsie (Gewebeentnahme) unter Ultraschallkontrolle vorgenommen. Dieser Eingriff geschieht vor Ort und mit örtlicher Betäubung. Die Analyse der Gewebeproben geschieht im Unispital-eigenen Labor.

 

Die Befunde werden in den Tumorkonferenzen, an denen Expertinnen und Experten unterschiedlicher Fachbereiche teilnehmen, beurteilt. Die daraus hervorgehenden Vorschläge für diagnostische und therapeutische Massnahmen werden anschliessend mit Ihnen und Ihren Angehörigen ausführlich besprochen. So erstellen wir zusammen mit Ihnen ein auf Sie abgestimmtes Therapieprogramm.

 

Termine nach Vereinbarung

Montag: 8.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Dienstag: 9.30 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Mittwoch: 8.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Donnerstag: 9.00 – 12.00 Uhr und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr

Freitag: 8.00 – 12.00 und 13.00 – 16.30 Uhr


Anmeldung Brustklinik
Tel. +41 61 265 91 19
brustklinik@usb.ch

 

Häufige Fragen zum Thema Brustkrebs

FAQ Brustkrebs

Gibt es Personengruppen, die bei Brustkrebs eine intensivere Vorsorge benötigen? – Prof. Christian Kurzeder

Was ist eine Breast Care Nurse? – Andrea Imgraben

Wann ist eine Operation bei Brustkrebs nötig und was wird dabei gemacht? – Prof. Walter Weber

Wann ist der richtige Zeitpunkt für eine Brustrekonstruktion? – Prof. Martin Haug

Mit welchem Anliegen bin ich bei einer Breast Care Nurse richtig? – Daniela Richner

FAQ Brustkrebs

Gibt es Personengruppen, die bei Brustkrebs eine intensivere Vorsorge benötigen? – Prof. Christian Kurzeder

Was ist eine Breast Care Nurse? – Andrea Imgraben

Wann ist eine Operation bei Brustkrebs nötig und was wird dabei gemacht? – Prof. Walter Weber

Wann ist der richtige Zeitpunkt für eine Brustrekonstruktion? – Prof. Martin Haug

Mit welchem Anliegen bin ich bei einer Breast Care Nurse richtig? – Daniela Richner

FAQ Brustkrebs